top of page

Introducing Our Distinguished Panel of Judges

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

Today, the Ellen Fitzgibbon Memorial Photography Competition announced a distinguished panel of prominent nature photographers and photo editors to judge submissions in its inaugural year. The five-member panel includes Jasper Doest, Elizabeth Krist, Amy Pereira, Joel Sartore, and Camille Seaman. Their biographies are available here.

The competition, named for Ellen Fitzgibbon, photographer, veterinarian, and outdoor enthusiast, who died of ovarian cancer in June of 2018, will open on September 1st to coincide with Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month. In addition to receiving cash prizes of $1,500 and $1,000, winning photographs will be donated to cancer hospitals and displayed prominently where patients can view them.

Ellen’s last wish was one she made clear: she wanted her photographs to bring vibrancy into the sterile treatment rooms where she had spent many hours receiving chemotherapy. Ellen gave her photos a purpose that would outlive her, and this photography competition is dedicated to that selfless mission.

This competition welcomes photographers who share Ellen’s appreciation for the natural world and who find inspiration in knowing their photograph might one day grace the wall of a cancer hospital as a messenger of Ellen’s wish "to bring hope and beauty to those facing cancer."

Photo submissions must be received by October 15th, and winners will be announced on December 1st. Additional details on the competition and its mission can be found at as well as on Facebook and Instagram.

150 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page